What animal has scales and hair?

What animal has scales and hair?

One of the main characteristics that is used to distinguish one class of animals from another is type of skin covering. Mammals have hair or fur, birds have feathers, reptiles have dry scales, amphibians have soft, moist skin, and fish have wet, slimy scales.

Is there an animal with fur and scales?

Pangolins have large, protective keratin scales, similar in material to fingernails and toenails, covering their skin; they are the only known mammals with this feature.

Does Elephant have scale?

An elephant doesn’t have sweat or sebum glands, so it covers its skin in water or mud to keep cool. In 2013, he was part of a team that discovered that the scales on a crocodile’s face and jaw are actually skin that has folded and healed.

Which group of animals have skin with hair on most or some of the body?


What are three types of insectivores?

Insectivora is obsolete as a taxonomic order, but the term insectivore is still used to refer to the remaining members, which have been classified into three orders: Soricimorpha, Erinaceomorpha, and Chrysochloridea.

What is the most intelligent group of placentals?

There is good evidence to show that the primates are the most intelligent order of placental mammals, after all, humans are primates.

Which order of organisms are the most intelligent?

Here are a few of the most intelligent animals that will might change your opinion of what being smart means.

  • Smartest Animals: Chimpanzees.
  • Most intelligent animals: Goats.
  • Smartest animals in the world: Elephants.
  • Smart animals: Dolphins.
  • Smartest animals: Crows.
  • Smartest animals in the world: Bees.

What is the smallest known mammal?

Kitti’s hog-nosed bat

What are the 5 types of mammals?

However, the commonly accepted types of mammals are grouped into three major categories based on how mammals reproduce their babies:

  • Types of Mammals. Monotremes Mammals. Marsupial Mammals.
  • Characteristics of Mammals. Warm-blooded. Vertebrates.
  • Monotremes Mammal Orders.
  • Marsupial Mammal Orders.
  • Placental Mammal Orders.

What is the 3 types of mammals?

Extant mammals are divided into three subclasses based on reproductive techniques (monotremes, marsupials, and placentals) consisting of 27 orders. Within each order, families are organized by taxonomic relationship and distinguished by their genus and species.

What are 2 types of mammals?

There are three groups of mammals: the eutherians, or placental mammals, the marsupials, and the monotremes, or metatherians. These groups are divided into two clades: the eutherians and marsupials comprise the clade of therian mammals, and monotremes form their sister clade.

What are 15 mammals?


  • Aardvark. African Elephant. African Wild Dog. African Lion. Arabian (Dromedary) Camel Arctic Fox. Arctic Hare.
  • Baboon. Bactrian Camel. Beaver. Bear, Black. Beluga Whale. Bengal Tiger.
  • California Sea Lion. Caribou. Cheetah. Chimpanzee. Chipmunk. Clouded Leopard.
  • Harbor Porpoise. Hare. Hare, Arctic. Harp Seal. Hawaiian Monk Seal.

Is a platypus a monotreme?

The monotremes are a group of highly specialised egg-laying predatory mammals, containing the platypus and echidnas. There are only five living species of monotreme, contained within two families: Family Ornithorhynchidae: the platypus, a single species in a single genus, Ornithorhynchus anatinus.

Why is a platypus a monotreme?

The platypus Along with echidnas, platypus are grouped in a separate order of mammals known as monotremes, which are distinguished from all other mammals because they lay eggs. The platypus and echidna have both survived by occupying ecological niches.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top