What is the function of the Lok Sabha?

What is the function of the Lok Sabha?

Powers. The Lok Sabha has certain powers that make it more powerful than the Rajya Sabha. Motions of no confidence against the government can be introduced and passed in the Lok Sabha. If passed by a majority vote, the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers resign collectively.

What are the most important function of Lok Sabha?

The important functions of the Lok Sabha are:

  • Legislative Function: The primary function of Parliament is a law making function.
  • Financial Power: The power of control over the finances by the Lok Sabha is powerful.

What are Lok Sabha members called?

It is a bicameral legislature composed of the President of India and the two houses: the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People). Those elected or nominated (by the President) to either house of Parliament are referred to as Members of Parliament (MP).

Who elect the member of Lok Sabha?

The Lok Sabha at present consists of 545 members. Of these, 530 members are directly elected from the States and 13 from Union Territories, while two are nominated by the President to represent the Anglo-Indian community.

Who is the deputy leader of Lok Sabha?

Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha

Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha Lok Sabhā Upādhyakṣa
Flag of India
Incumbent Vacant since 23 June 2019
Style The Honourable
Appointer Members of the Lok Sabha

Who is the Deputy Speaker of Vidhan Sabha?

Karnataka Legislative Assembly
Speaker Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri, BJP since 31 July 2019
Deputy Speaker Anand Chandrashekhar Mamani, BJP since 24 March 2020
Leader of the House (Chief Minister) B. S. Yediyurappa, BJP since 26 July 2019

Who was the first speaker of the Lok Sabha?

On 15 May 1952, after the first general elections in independent India, Mavalankar, who was representing Ahmedabad for Congress, was elected the Speaker of the first Lok Sabha. The House carried the proposal with 394 votes, against the opponent’s 55.

Who was the father of Lok Sabha in England?

Skinner contested the 2019 election, but was defeated, and so Sir Peter Bottomley, who has been an MP continuously since 1975, became Father of the House.

Who is the longest standing MP?

Since the start of the 20th century, the longest continuous service by an MP has been 51 years 80 days by Edward Heath, who sat from 1950 to 2001. The longest continuous service record for a female MP is held by Harriet Harman, first elected in October 1982.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top